Related Links

Recommended Links

Give the Composers Timeline Poster

Site News

What's New for
Early 2018?

Site Search

Follow us on
Facebook    Twitter


In association with
Amazon UKAmazon GermanyAmazon CanadaAmazon FranceAmazon Japan

CD Universe



Sheet Music Plus Featured Sale

CD Review

Fernando Sor

My Careless Eyes - Seguidillas & Solos for Guitar

  • Moderato, Op. 35 #17
  • Variations On a Theme By Paisiello, Op. 16
  • Andantino Lento, Op. 24 #1
  • From "12 Seguidillas":
  • Las Mujeres Y Cuerdas
  • Acuérdate, Bien Mio
  • Muchacha Y La Vergüenza
  • Cesa De Atormentarme
  • De Amor En Las Prisiones
  • Mis Descuidados Ojos
  • Prepárame La Tumba
  • El Que Quisiera Amando
  • Andante Maestoso, Op. 11 #5
  • Ye Banks And Braes O'Bonnie Doon – Fantasie on a Scottish air, Op. 40 (c.1829-1830)
  • Allegretto, Op. 35 #8
  • Andante Con Moto, Op. 11 #10
  • Allegro Moderato, Op. 6 #11
  • Variations On a Theme By Mozart, Op. 9
  • Andantino, Op. 6 #8
Evelyn Tubb, soprano
David Parsons, guitar
Academy Sound & Vision Gaudeamus CDGAU344 64m DDD
Find it at AmazonFind it at Amazon UKFind it at Amazon GermanyFind it at Amazon CanadaFind it at Amazon FranceFind it at Amazon Japan

I listened to this disc on a surround system and although that is intended for more blockbuster style stuff, but it was thoroughly enjoyable. The sweltering August heat was also somewhat cooled down by the exquisite sounds of Parsons' guitar and the soaring range of Tubb's beautiful soprano voice.

Sor's reputation as a musical polymath is well justified here as the music is a varied pot pourri with songs, variations and various other pieces that exploit the sound of the Latin instrument par excellence.

Two sets of variations make up a third of the music here with Paisello and Mozart treated to an exhaustive exploration that really come alive in Parsons' interpretations. However, my favourites were the various songs from the much vaunted '12 Seguidillas' with Tubb singing with exquisite range and quite amazing diction.

I was slightly disappointed with the rather sparse notes on offer in the booklet but otherwise, I cannot recommend this collection too highly to all lovers of the guitar and the Spanish voice!

Copyright © 2003, Gerald Fenech